SC Ports Logo

176 Concord Street, P.O. Box 22287, Charleston, SC 29413-2287
Contact: Erin Dhand, Manager, Corporate Communications and Community Affairs
Telephone: 843-577-8121 • Fax: 843-577-8127 • e-mail:


Lehman Selected for Ex-Im Bank, TRB

Charleston, SC - Peter O. Lehman, director of planning and business development for the South Carolina State Ports Authority, has been named to two national organizations.

Lehman will serve on the National Research Council through the Transportation Research Board's Committee on Ports and Channels. The National Research Council is a private, nonprofit operating agency for the National Academy of Sciences. Its members serve to personally advise the government and the public on issues and not to represent their organizations.

He was also named to the Advisory Committee of the Export-Import Bank of the United States. The Ex-Im Bank, which was created by President Roosevelt, is an independent U.S. government agency that has provided financing for U.S. exports for more than 65 years. The committee advises the Bank on its programs, especially with respect to providing competitive financing to expand global markets for U.S. exports.

Lehman is President of the Propeller Club of the Port of Charleston and has served as vice chairman of the American Association of Port Authorities' Planning and Research Committee. He was also recently named vice chairman for the Industry Consultations Program, a joint initiative of the U.S. Department of Commerce and the U.S. Trade Representative, and is a member of S.C. International Trade Conference Board.

He received his bachelor's degree in business administration from Stetson University, earned a certificate of advanced study from the American Graduate School of International Management (Thunderbird), and obtained his juris doctorate degree from the New England School of Law. He is a licensed attorney and is a member of the South Carolina, New Jersey and District of Columbia Bars as well as 10 Federal Courts including The Supreme Court of the United States.