SC Ports Logo

176 Concord Street, P.O. Box 22287, Charleston, SC 29413-2287
Contact: Erin Dhand, Manager, Corporate Communications and Community Affairs
Telephone: 843-577-8121 • Fax: 843-577-8127 • e-mail:


Groseclose Elected to Chair Ports Association

Charleston, SC Bernard S. Groseclose Jr., president and chief executive officer of the South Carolina State Ports Authority, was elected chairman of the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA), an organization that represents 150 ports in the Western Hemisphere.

Groseclose was elected by the Board of Directors this week at its Spring Conference in Washington. He will be installed as chairman of the 66-member board at the AAPA annual convention this fall in Tampa.

AAPA represents leading public port facilities in the United States, Canada, Latin America and the Caribbean. It protects and advances the common interests of its diverse members as they facilitate waterborne commerce and contribute to local, regional and national economic growth.

Groseclose joined the SCSPA in 1985 and became president and CEO of the organization in 1997. He has served as chairman of the South Carolina World Trade Center and as president of the South Atlantic and Caribbean Ports Association. He has served also on the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and currently serves on the executive committee of the International Association of Ports and Harbors.

In 2000, Groseclose received the Transportation Leader of the Year Award from the National Transportation Week Committee and also received the Trident Urban League's Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Award for Excellence in Economic Development